A Day in Ken Ericksons Shop

Ernie Swanson

SASSY PINK LUUNCHBOX KNIFE MAKER
A few weeks ago I posted a design critique thread on a design I drew up for a slip joint. Ken Erickson pointed out a few things wrong with my tang. He noticed I was In Wisconsin and invited me to his shop for a day to learn about slippies!!!

A little about myself, I am very new to knife making, I have just finished the construction of my first knife. It is a full tang fixed blade. I have also finished building my first sheath, all I have left to do as of now is give it an edge and sharpen!!
Here is a link to my first knife wip
http://www.bladeforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=692312

Yesterday morning I got up at 4:00 am and left my house by 4:30
I got to Kens Shop at 9:00 a.m.

He greeted me with his shop door open and when I walked in I was amazed to see all his tools and machinery placed very well around in his small shop as to actually make the shop seem large.
We shook hands and went right to work.:thumbup:

He had a blade and spring already heat treated, but everything else he was going to build while teaching me all the aspects of building a shadow slip joint folder.

Ken Explained everything he was doing in great detail and as far as I can tell left nothing of importance out.

I am still amazed at this master craftsman at work!!!!

I asked questions that I thought were of minor importance but Ken answered them as if they were the most important. Ken sat there and expained to me the geometrics of the tang and spring and showed me how everything works.
We went over blade, spring and liner thicknesses in reguards to the astetics of a knife.

I have the utmost respect for Ken and he is a true teacher. I left his shop at 4:30 p.m. with so much knowledge I now am not scared to try my hand at a slippie.
I know Ken might not think of himself as a true craftsman and a great teacher but after a day spent with him I feel he is one of the best!!!

I am extremely proud to call Ken a friend.