Paper Wheel

I use paper wheels from Razor Sharp. I got them at Grizzly.com for something like $30 or $40. They work really well. If you like to convex on the belt grinder, it works to use the wheel with white rouge to knock the burr off. I am pretty happy with mine.

-Mike

Hi Wayne,
I've been using the paper wheels for a few years now. In just a few minutes you can put a polished, razor edge on just about any knife. When using the grit wheel care must taken not to overheat the edge. I guess my only complaint is that I don't get "Hundreds of knives" sharpened before re-griting is necessary which is a PITA!
I think Grizzly carries them. I can't remember off hand the place I'm been buying them from but he has them in different diameters, widths, grits sizes and hole sizes.
Bryan

Here's the link where I get mine. [URL="http://stanfordoutdoors.homestead.com/"/URL] He also has some videos clips

Last edited:
Because of the potential danger referenced above I've removed my comments.
Another member suggested that I further explain why I edited my pervious post about re-gritting the paper wheels with split belts.
I was PM'd by another member that uses this technique and warned that it was dangerous unless you knew what you were doing. Since I personally have never tried it, I decided to remove the post. But some information is better than no information. My thought is that the belt could delaminate from the wheel during use and cause an un-safe situation. Since I have some wheels in need of re-gritting, I will experiment with them. If you don't hear from me again, things didn't go well!!

Last edited: