Robb Gunter's Super Quench

Wayne Coe

Forum Owner - Moderator
No, I did not misspell Robb.
I have been using Super Quench for several years. When I first started blacksmithing I got into carving heads, dragons, wizards, horse heads, etc. My wife has horses so we have plenty of horse shoes around. I started carving horse heads on the heel of half of a horse shoe and forging a letter opener blade on the other. I was quenching them in water and not drawing a temper. They would sell for about $25.00. After all horse shoes are made of mild steel. One day I thought about how much work I put into them for a $25.00 return. What if I quenched them in Super Quench? I started doing that and making a leather sheath and selling them for $125.00 and selling more of them. Last year I sold 6 at the blade show. My wife carries a Case Equine knife and I sharpen it more often than I do my Super Quenched mild steel knives. I believe that the reason my knives sold well is that 1. there are horse people at the Blade Show , 2. there was nothing else at the show anything like them. I am not advocating using mild steel for a good knife steel, it is something to think about. And BTW everyone was told that they were made of mild steel.

Well 'nuff of that stuff, here is the info on Super Quench: