We need to save the disappearing tutorials

calharkins

Guys, as a newbie, I need all of the tutorials I can get. There are a lot of tutorials out there on the web, but the come and go. Lots of broken links when websites go down, people remove them, etc.

There needs to be an archive somewhere or a dvd or some way to save what is disappearing and put them in one repository. I have gone back to look at several tutorials that I bookmarked and they are no longer there. I am sure all of you have experienced that.

Any ideas?? I have been printing some of them to pdf files, but that is a royal pain.

Wasnt aware they were being removed,.. have to pull them to a server here at home for future ref.

John, the link you listed in only a link to other sites. Material from those sites can be removed at any time. Any of those sites can be closed down completely. I show that the Lloyd Harding knife patterns that were at
http://www.hurleyknives.com/lloydgallery.html are no longer there. There are a bunch of other links that I have already deleted from my bookmarks.

John, the link you listed in only a link to other sites. Material from those sites can be removed at any time. Any of those sites can be closed down completely. I show that the Lloyd Harding knife patterns that were at
http://www.hurleyknives.com/lloydgallery.html are no longer there. There are a bunch of other links that I have already deleted from my bookmarks.

I agree, photobucket accounts are a real offender here, I have seen them gone within days.

Some people put up really good info, but use ebay photos to show what products they mean...gone as soon as the auction is over.

I have printed PDF files too, but it is a real pain to edit them into a nice readable product. It would be nice if a standard format were adopted for creating tutorials, such as PDF files then saved and traded and archived without losing quality.
(knifemakers could put nice footers on the bottom with website links )