Quenching medium questions

calharkins

I am a pharmaceutical chemist. Not to be confused with the pharmacist that just counts and pours medication. We compound medications for patients with specific needs. I was making some medication and got to thinking about things that could possibly be used as a quenchant.

Propylene Glycol is miscible in water. Has anyone ever tried adding propylene glycol to water and quenching W-1 or W-2 steel?

Has anyone tried PEG 300 (polyethylene glycol 300) mixed with propylene glycol or mineral oil as a quenchant for O-1 steel?

Lots of possibilities. I just don't want to go down a road that someone has already been down.

That's interesting. One concern would be the chemical stability of an additive like that during the introduction of a 1500 degree object. Does PEG degrade at high temperatures?

Well I don't know. I have never heated it that hot. I will do some research and find out about it's stability in high heat.

Surprises are called surprises because they aren't expected. I once tried to put out a campfire with window washer fluid. Whoda' thunk? :)

There are probably hundreds of quenchants that can be used and I doubt the end user could tell you the difference between a blade quenched in any of them. I am not sure what is to be gained by adding possible quenchants to a list that already reads like tea leaves.

If I can make an excellent quenchant for less than half what I would have to pay for one that would be a win for me. Besides that it gives me a chance to use the chemistry I learned. I think the first one I will try will be some propylene glycol 50:50 with water to heat treat some W-2. I am down with bronchitis right now so it may be a bit before I get to try it. Anyone got any ideas I want to hear them.

Kevin thanks for the information. It gives me hope that it will work.