Help! Quench Question.

Are you sure you want less than 5 gallons? I'm asking because if you are making some, I'd assume it would continue and the stuff is hard enough to get perhaps you can simply hold on to the excess for a while? I know you need to change it periodically, but I'm new and have NO idea of when (or how long unused oil would last). I'd basically given up on smaller amounts and was going to bite the bullet and try to track down 5 gallons of either Parks or Houghton if I can. That is a BIG if though.

i like smaller amounts so that i can try out different ones, so i can learn which ones work best for me and my needs seeing that i am a nube myself. buying 5 gallons at over 100 delivered is to costly to just do the old pig and a poke and hope the one you picked is the right pick for you. it of course would be different if i was a pro pushing out volumes of knives but i am not. just a hobbyist obsessed with knives lol.

You want the quench that is right for the steel, not right for you. 1084 is a good choice of steel for your needs, and is not terribly picky about the quench. As long as it is a fast oil. Parks #50 would be a top choice, but not the only. Any of the oils nearing the speed of the Parks would do fine. Canola oil may be an answer for your needs. It is fast enough for 1084, and you can buy just the amount you want. Tai Goo uses it for 1095 with apparent good results, and 1084 is much less demanding than 1095 is.

Speed isn’t the only thing to consider and choosing a quenching medium based strictly on steel type is a bit misleading. Blade geometry or part design and the intended end use also play major roles.