Difference in Rockwell on 440c and Cpm154

percy

For some of you guys or gals that know more about this stuff. I have been making knives for 25 years and this has always been in the back of my mind but never reached out and pursued it.
If you heat treat 440c and have a 59 Rockwell and
you heat treat CPM 154 and get a 59 rockwell
why would one be more usuable that the other considering
they both have the same hardness.
I know toughness comes in but what else?
I use CPM-154 exclusively but I know Ruffin Johnson used 440C exclusively, I ask him once why he did not try something else
and he said he had never had any complaints from customers so why change. Good reason I suppose.
Someone help me understand what you different with these two steel that would make one better to use.
Thanks a lot for any time and consideration put into this.

Percy

From the crucible data sheet for regular 154CM
--------------------------------------------
Crucible 154 CM is a modification of 440Cmartensitic stainless steel to which molybdenumhas been added. 154 CM has better corrosionresistance, better wear resistance and betterhot-hardness than 440C. For knifemakers, itoffers better edge retention than 440C. It alsohas higher attainable hardness and better​
through hardening characteristics than 440C.

-----------------------------------------------

For CPM154, you get all plus more even carbide distribution and twice the toughness for the same hardness.

Both have their place in knife making, but they are miles apart in performance capabilities.

From the crucible data sheet for regular 154CM
--------------------------------------------
Crucible 154 CM is a modification of 440Cmartensitic stainless steel to which molybdenumhas been added. 154 CM has better corrosionresistance, better wear resistance and betterhot-hardness than 440C. For knifemakers, itoffers better edge retention than 440C. It alsohas higher attainable hardness and better​
through hardening characteristics than 440C.