CPM 3v Destruction Testing and Etching results

Shane Wink

I have been experimenting with 3v for the passed couple of months doing cutting test and working with the HT. I was done with most of the cutting test and decided to break the blade to see how the grain appeared and how it would break.

The blade I chose to break was a drop point hunter that speced at 8 3/4 long over all with a 4" blade 1/8th thick with distal taper along the blade and 1 1/4 wide. I mounted the blade in the vice 2"s from the tip. Wearing gloves, helmet and apron I began pulling on the blade but it was not easy to pull. I am a pretty stout firefighter and needed a cheater to bend the blade enough to where it finally snapped.

20121221_120501.jpg

Its returned too position after the above bending.
20121221_120512.jpg

Cross section showing where the tip was snapped off.
Untitled-9.jpg

The blade above preformed very well when compared to my 01 blades made the same way and with the HT I give them. I may need to refine the HT to make the 01 better or maybe the 3v is that much better but at any rate for me the 3v cut much longer than the 01. Another thing of not is when stropping the blades after grinding the bur on them it takes much longer to remove the bur from the 3v.

I was able to break the blade and it broke at about 45* which is past where it is in pic above. When it did break the knife snapped into 3 pieces, one piece at the jaws of the vice and the other in the middle of the tang. When looking at the cross section it has a ledge sticking out and not a clean break like most of the other steals I have broken. Is this an issue with my HT?