Heat treating problems

I just started using the KnifeDog oven, working with 1/8" 1095. With 1450 as a target temp I soaked for 10 minutes and then went into a 125 degree quench. I did a file test and the blade was dead soft. So after cleaning up I again tried a HT, this time not relying on the pyrometer, took it to 1500 , which was non-magentic. Back into the stove and took the temp up to 1500, held for 8 minutes and then quench. I was very unsure of the quality of the HT so I tested the blade on a vise, broke like a twig!. The grain was very fine, but the blade had no flexability. I am new to using electric ovens.

I see few concerns, but the big note is that you would expect it to break like glass pre-temper. That spring you are looking for shows up after tempering relieves stress.

I just started using the KnifeDog oven, working with 1/8" 1095. With 1450 as a target temp I soaked for 10 minutes and then went into a 125 degree quench. I did a file test and the blade was dead soft. So after cleaning up I again tried a HT, this time not relying on the pyrometer, took it to 1500 , which was non-magentic. Back into the stove and took the temp up to 1500, held for 8 minutes and then quench. I was very unsure of the quality of the HT so I tested the blade on a vise, broke like a twig!. The grain was very fine, but the blade had no flexability. I am new to using electric ovens.

We have all heard the story of Goldilocks, and you are living it with the 1095 Tom. You have went to 1450F (the porridge is too cool), and you have tried 1500F (the porridge is too hot); now you need to go to what your simple hypereutectoid Goldilocks is looking for, 1475F (just right). The magnet will let go of this steel at around 1420F so you have 80 extra degrees to deal with in reconciling it with 1500F.