Light box photos

Brad Lilly

Moderator and Awards Boss
I have been trying to cobble a light box together and I'm giving it a test run.
DSCF4875_zpsda6653e4.jpg

DSCF4876_zpsff36f9bf.jpg

DSCF4877_zps0bae5e34.jpg

I think my red background looks the best followed by the black. When I tried the green and blue it just did not look right. I will take any photography tips anyone would like to share, I'm not very good with a camera

It's about lighting more than anything.
White balance your camera using all the lights on you normally would.
lighting should be 2/3s from the back, 1/3 from the front.
Check your focus. If you can manually focus, try that.
more light gives you a smaller aperture which gives you more depth of field.
you will need to get more over the top of the knife. You are shooting at too low of an angle.

what kind of camera are you using?
what is your light setup?

I’m using a Fuji fine pix S. I have turned the aperture down to try and sharpen the image. Auto focus is the only option for this camera. Etched blades are easier to shoot compared to shiny blades. I have a hard time getting over the top of the knife without having a reflection of the camera in the blade. I was playing around a little more and came up with this picture.
Edit_zpsed49840f.jpg

I turned the shutter speed down and edited the brightness and contrast a little in photobucket.

DSCF4888_zps25291746.jpg

This is my set up, a box made from puck board. I wired two outlets on the box that are controlled by dimmer switches so I can play with the brightness. I'm thinking the sides should be cloth and filter the light through that.

If I don't get this out of the kitchen the light box may end up my coffin

rps20120923_084809.jpg