Heat treat help for newbie?

Pedro G.

Hi, i'm at the point with my new knife where I have to HT my blade, its a 1084 steel and about 10" long from butt to tip. I have a furnace I made with bricks and charcoal but it doesn't for heat treat because I can't control the temperature and frankly i'm still pretty new to it. I've ruined many blades so far. I was wondering if anyone here could heat treat this blade for me? I would pay shipping and any other cost you may need or want, but I just can't afford to spend 30-40$ to send 1 blade to be HTed and I want to do this knife right this time.

If you would like to help me can you please message me or if you have any alternative solutions to my problem if you could please help that would be great.. I really can't move much foreward until I sell this knife because my budget is not enough for rough HTing equiptment yet. :)

Thank you very much for reading this.

-Pedro G.

http://www.texasknife.com/vcom/privacy.php

CAT. NO.
( HTT1-7 ) Heat Treating & Tempering. 1-7 blades under 10” in overall length.$5.50 each
( HTT8 or more) Heat Treating & Tempering on 8 or more blades under 10” overall length.$4.95 each
( HTT>10" ) Heat Treating & Tempering. Max. overall length of 20”. $10.00 each
( HTTVAS) Heat Treating & Tempering of VASCOWEAR, CRUWEAR, BG42, CPM10V, S30V, S90V. $15.00 each (includes CRYO Treatment)
( HTTSP ) Heat Treating & Tempering of Folder Springs and Rockers. $4.00 each
S30V Blades Heat Treating and Tempering $20.00 each
Please fill out our Heat treat and Cryo-form.
{Call for pricing over 20” and other Exotic Steels}

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Helpful Hints To Our Heat Treat Customers

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------