Blade to Handle Ratio

Daffy

Hey Guys n Gals,

So I went to an Archery Shoot and saw some custom knives and axes a week ago... And now I have the urge to make my own knife. I did some research on the forums and off and have started picking up my supplies. Last night I went ahead and started to trace out the design I planned on doing. To me it looks like a drop point hunter (but hey i'm a noob so maybe you guys might give it another name.) Anyways, after transferring the design to the billet I felt as if there was to much handle an not enough blade. Seemed like a 1:1 ratio. The billet is 1/8x1 1/2x7 7/8 1084

So my question is... How do you judge how long or short a each part of a knife should be? is there a golden rule? Or do you just go by a combination of function and aesthetics?

Thanks for the help even if I may be asking a silly question

So my question is... How do you judge how long or short a each part of a knife should be? is there a golden rule? Or do you just go by a combination of function and aesthetics?

There's really no set rule or ratio when it comes to handle and blade length. The biggest determining factor is just how you said it: function and aesthetics. If you're making a skinner for instance, you don't necessarily want a blade that 10" long and a handle that's 7" long. Likewise, a 4" blade might be useful as a utility neck knife, but won't be too practical with a 2" handle.

If it looks good, make it, if not, tweak it.

As Andrew said,
I look at the use of the knife first. If it's a Culinary knife, The Handle will be my most of the time 4.75-5.5 inch handle. Depending on who I am making it for?