154cm and cryo

DLBrothers

Knowing that there are numerous options to cryo SS, I was wondering what folks are commonly doing and what if any testing has been done to evaluate the results (either formal or observational). My particular question is with 154cm and cryo txt. I am new to using this SS and have read several options and want to know what you fellows have found most beneficial.

A. Cryo immediately after initial quench for however long- assume at least 4 hours, basically cryo being part of the initial quench.

B. Cryo after a snap temper, then do full temper regimen.

C. Cryo after one cycle of normal temper

D. I don't do cryo with 154 cm due to minimal benefit.

Thanks dogs!

I agree, A is what I like, B is safe option. I have seen a point to 1.5 gain in RC just from dry ice/acetone, in CM 154 austentized at 1950 and plate quenched.

I just cryo'd some cpm154 over wknd, and went right from HT to cryo followed by a temper, cryo, and another temper. Some of the older high carbide tool steel like D7 I snap temper because it is may crack easier, but not CPM154.

I heat treat, quench until room temp and then in the LN Cryo. From my understanding of it this process gives you the most benefit of the cryo treatment though you do have the ability to generate cracks so its a risk. my thinking was if i break a blade in this process then maybe there was a fault from the start

I do this with 440C, CPM154 and S30V but when i have been doing carbon steel like 1095 i heat treat and then snap temper then cryo.

steve

I've always been told that any type of cryo or sub zero treatment to simple steels (10xx) does nothing.

Crucible told me when I asked, that I should "snap temper", then cryo. Maybe they've changed their minds.