well other thread was to long so start this over heres the start of #2

Attachments

• 100_3459.jpg
    100_3459.jpg
    95.4 KB · Views: 37
  • 100_3461.jpg
    100_3461.jpg
    94.2 KB · Views: 48
got thinking i have never done bolsters, so i desided to use a file to give it a different look + i have never seen done so here is the start tell me what you think? the brass pins are just holding till i shape it all out.

Attachments

• 100_3487.jpg
    100_3487.jpg
    95.7 KB · Views: 33
thanks wade, you cant see in the pics but i surface ground them and there is a 2 tone color to them. should come out nice.

Thanks for the link.
Yeah, I'v never seen it done. Want to see what it looks like finished. The two tone color will be nice.

heres a little further along. starting to take shape.

Attachments

• 100_3491.jpg
    100_3491.jpg
    95.6 KB · Views: 43
  • 100_3492_00.jpg
    100_3492_00.jpg
    96.7 KB · Views: 51
I've been forging files for 20 years but I never thought of using them for bolsters. Capital idea! Any thoughts on a handle material. I was thinking the other day of making some micarta out of old worn out 2" sanding belts. Kind of the same theme you have going with the file bolsters. Using an abrasive as the material they are normally used on. Just a thought.:les: The knife is looking great by the way:biggrin:

Very nice...speaking of micarta....I hate that stuff...BUT, have you seen the Pine Cone micarta?....pretty neat...

just finished heat treat with a hamon,will post up some pics tomorrow.
what you gys think elk slabs/walnut?

Betcha Wade has some reindeer antler. They seem pretty prolific in the glades, hangin' out with their python buddies:s12137: