Is Parks 50 too fast for 1080/1085 steel

C Craft

I have some new quench oil on the way and mentioned to someone on another forum about using Parks50 on 1080/1804 and they made the comment it was too fast for those particular steels. Anyone want to share some knowledge on that subject? :les:

Parks 50 is what I'm using......1080, 5160, 52100, etc. I did find that it is too fast for 52100 if pre-heated.....I use it on everything at room temp.

This bit of misinformation from elsewhere is problematic enough to cause me to take a moment to leave the sidelines as referee and to add some words. No oil is too fast for shallow hardening steels such as 10XX or W series, which were suited for water quenches in thicker sections but can be hardened quite well in oil in thinner sections. I have been doing this whole knifemaking thing for over 30 years now and have yet to crack a blade in oil. Not that it can't be done if you blow the heating badly enough. I have tried to intentionally cause problems for metallography samples and the only way I could get even a fast oil to stress the steel to that level is to overheat it, also leaving it in an as-quenched condition without tempering. Every such argument I have seen thus far about #50 is pure sour grapes and intellectual dishonesty from people bent on never using it, and wanting to feel less alone by talking others out of trying it.