Tips on making bolsters?

I'm still pretty new at knifemaking and have to rely on other people for blades, liners, hardware, mosaic pins, etc. With my shop equipment, I am basically a glorified handle maker / fileworker / finisher. I'm ok with that and maybe one day I will invest in and explore my options as far as sole authorship. Anyway, I wanted your opinion on something...I have been making some "kit" knives using damascus blades I have made for me, fileworking the liners, making a backspacer and making and finishing the handle. This is a picture of my latest and I am pretty pleased with it:

6816007092_e4e11ddcef_b.jpg

Anyway, I don't really like the rough, cast metal bolsters that come with the knife as they are pretty plain and have many inclusions from the casting process. I am beginning to get more ambitious and am going to attempt to make my first set of bolsters using Chad Nichols or Doug Ponzio mosaic damascus:

CNMD_WALKER_550.jpg