Why so Many Hidden Tangs

Dwane Oliver

I've been making knives for about 8 years , and still consider myself a newbie.
I look around the net and see so many hidden tangs , and ask why.....

I'm , myself , am not a fan of the hidden tang. WHY you may ask...
Well , IMHO , they cant be as strong as a full tang. I can see some , like the take down models some guys make , being close.
In my past experiences , a properly tapered and lightened full tang , can balance at the index finger just as well.
AND
Myself dont mind using the extra material to create, IMHO, a stronger handle.

I also believe that a knife should be used as such , not a prybar or an axe.
BUT
If ones life depended on it, I feel alot better knowing that the handle will not break off during hard use.
Now that you'all know how I feel about the subject , I would like to know what you'all think about the subject.
AND
Why so Many Hidden Tangs ?

Dwane

YEAH! What do ya'll have to hide?:9::3:

My tang !

The hidden tang may/probably be a remnant of long ago days when steel was scarce. In days gone by, your local knifemaker was probably also your local blacksmith who would reuse or combine whatever steel was available with conservancy in mind. If you forge, hidden tangs are a way to show your skill in design and execution. There's no reason a hidden tang should be weaker than a full tang if done properly. I'd be suspect of the actual handle material in both designs weakening to heavy lateral stresses. Also, hidden tangs give you handle design choices you won't get with the other. just a couple pennies worth.

Rudy

My tang !