1x30 belt sander speed idea

USMC_ROCKO

I have been making custom Knives from old Nicolson files for 4 months now am have been doing good, And I am using Blaze grit sanding belts from 40-120 and it works but my speed isnt fast enough . so I am wondering if anyone thinks its possible to take the motor off of the 1x30 and attach a pulley to the drive shaft on 1x30 and a pulley on a bench grinder so I can change the speeds. I mean I would love to get your guy's imput and ideas if it will work . I mean I would love to have a kmg,Burr King, or even a grizzly but I can't afford it right now , I am trying to moddify my 1x30 or even get ideas for something better that will work better then just a stock 1x30 with a ceramic platten.

I was thinking about your idea:22:. I would think the higher RPM may be too much for the 1X 30 and cause you more problems. I have had a 1 X 30 for several months now and I understand the limitations your dealing with.

What if I moddified it to take 1x42 belts, and if that dont work then I guess Ill just keep if for sharpening and buy a 2x42 or 2x48