Hello all, just some questions about railroad spikes

RossGa

My name is Ross and I am a novice bladesmith. Just a quick question, more than likely more to follow. Do RR spikes make good knives? I am not talking about forming one out of the actual spike, but banging it out in a forge into bar stock and forming it. I know there are different types, I am using the ones marked "HC". Thanks. Bonus: what I got so far.
GetAttachment.aspx.jpg
Sorry about the size, I only have my phone camera.

"Good" would be a relative term, I would say, as far as RR spike knives go. I do believe that "HC" (or sometimes just "H") is supposed to denote "High Carbon", but according to some spec sheets I've seen in the past, the "high" is actually a bit low at about .20% to .30% carbon.

This would be equivalent to something like 1020 or 1030 steel. If they were in fact made out of truly high carbon steel, they would be much more brittle and prone to cracking and breaking when hammered into place or bent over.

So long story short, you'll be able to get it harder than mild steel, and probably even put a decent edge on it, but it's probably not gonna last for very long.

Last edited:
Borrowed this from a post in another forum:

According to the American Railway Engineering Association's Specifications for Soft-Steel Track Spikes. Original document, 1926, revised last in 1968. Two classes of track spikes are given specifications. Two sizes of track spike are identified, one of 5/8 inch square shaft and one of 9/16 inch.

The AREA document identifies both low carbon and high carbon spike specifications.