Newbie HT dilemma

theWeatherman

So I have been stuck between a couple different options and I was hoping you guys could help me out with your experiences and know how. This might be the wrong forum area but I figured I am a newbie and this is a good newbie question.

I could:
1) Buy a small Kiln for example http://www.sugarcreekind.com/kilns-knife-kilns-c-273_312.html
2) Use a oxy/acetylene torch or oxy/propane torch
3) Send out to HT

I would like to do it as cheap as possible and still make knives. So if I continue to send out for HT then I just add to the total and I will pass the total price for a kiln, if its a sugar creek kiln or an evenheat oven. ~$20 a knife for HT, so that would lead between 30-60 knives depending on the size of the knife and where you do it.

I would really like to do my own HT so I am stuck between #1 and #2. After doing the research for torch parts and ovens it really comes out on a wash. I would consider making a coffee-can forge and what not but my landlord doesn't want that type of stuff laying around, unless you guys have good idea on how to make it portable and easy to move and store. So I am back to a torch or a kiln, which will cool off and be easy to move and store.

What can you guys tell me about cheap HT ovens and using torches. I know lots of people don't like torches but I really like what they can do, looking at Brian Goode knives. Ideas, suggestions, hints?

I guess I came across another idea of using an older top loading kiln to HT knives but I don't understand how people are hanging knives or not burning themselves when they are taking the knives out to quench.

Last edited: