Newb's chisel cut tanto

repooc

OK I got steel in (CPM S30V) so I don't know when I will finish the edger blade knife (first knife) but here is my Second knife. It is a chisel cut tanto with a spike on the butt. Should be kinda cool. I need to get an oven asap because I am ready for HT. Tell me what you think and please be frank cause I'm a newb. BTW knives are hard to capture in pics.

Attachments

• IMG_3291.jpg
    IMG_3291.jpg
    96.1 KB · Views: 29
  • IMG_3292.jpg
    IMG_3292.jpg
    95.8 KB · Views: 38
  • IMG_3295.jpg
    IMG_3295.jpg
    96.6 KB · Views: 32
  • IMG_3301.jpg
    IMG_3301.jpg
    92.4 KB · Views: 34
  • IMG_3302.jpg
    IMG_3302.jpg
    94 KB · Views: 30
Repooc though this may turn out great, it looks like you are attempting a rather advanced pattern for your second but it may be okay. My concern is your layout method seems to lack the planning necessary to pull off a short tanto with a belly edge and clip point- this would be challenging for an experienced maker. I would move the front handle line back for a proper ricasso so the plunge line doesn't run into this area and I would also lighten the handle by drilling holes in steel so knife handles more toward point. You may consider making a template next time for a profile and layout as challenging as this. Post more pics when done- you're on right track!

Last edited:
I concur with Ausbrooks on the higher level grind you have going here!
Bring things back a tad for a Ricassio and Drill Baby Drill! :biggrin:

You are on the right track and you will fine your way here,
I would pass on the Butt Spike for now and concentrate on making a fine cutting blade.
S30V is a B!#(% to finish! so lets focus on your Fit & Finish for a few!

Laurence
www.rhinoknives.com