Oil quenching CPM S30V

edge master

Crucible's data sheet for CPM S30V recommends that when using an oil quench, an interrupt quench should be used to about 1000 degF. and then air cooled to below 125 degF. Can anyone tell me how to determine when the metal reaches 1000 degF?

That would be pretty much cool to "black" - all heat colour gone. Why would you choose oil quench for S30V? Its doable - but so darn messy and so much extra cleanup after heat treat as compared to plates.

Just curious.

Rob!

Are there any down sides to the plates? Seems that there would be very little contact surface with the ground blade to actually conduct the heat away. I know the practice is used pretty extensively. I'm new to heat treating and want to get off on the right foot. Would be very frustrating to spend hours grinding and filing away on a blade only to end up with a poor heat treatment process.

I guess there are downsides to everything. In the case of the plates, some people get issues with the foil sticking. We get it too on maybe 1 in 100 blades. As for contact, it doesn't seem to be an issue - even with tapered tang. We did a test a couple years ago making a "stepped" "Blade". I don't remember the exact numbers, but parallel surfaces are required for rockwell testing. We took a bar - probably about 3/16 thick and ground a section down to 1/8 and another to 3/32 thick. Obviously, only the full thickness section had contact with the plates. The hardness was the same (+/- .5) on all three sections, suggesting to us that the cooling was plenty fast enough for good hardening. Heck, these steels will quench in still air if necessary, so any plate contact just accelerates that big time. Warping is rare with plate quench, but by the time you know about it, it's too late. The blade is already too brittle to straighten without re-heating.