01 differences?

firephil

what would be the difference in Jantz 01 with a composition of
C .95 Mn1.20 Si.30 Cr.50 Va.20 Mo.50
and
Flatground 01
C1.00 Mn1.20 Si.35 Cr.35 W.50 (?)
I am wondering what it all means as I am still learning the chemistry of it all. Thanks, Phil

and
Flatground 01
I am wondering what it all means as I am still learning the chemistry of it all. Thanks, Phil

Carbon, Molybdenum, Vanadium, Tungsten and Chromium are the five steel additives [alloys] that produce carbides when the steel is hardened. It is these five steel alloys that give a blade its cutting qualities. All the other alloying agents add to the steel in different ways. Manganese, in a large enough percentage will make the steel harden all the way through. Others make the steel more malleable or in the case of Cr. it makes the steel more resistant to rust; or if added in a large enough percentage [12 to 14] makes the steel stainless.

There is a great deal to learn about steel especially so for a knife maker. We all want to get the most we can out of the steels we use so it is therefor mandatory that we understand the materials we are working with.
There are some excellent stickies on this subject on the Bladeforums site; look at the top of the shoptalk forum.

Regards, Fred

Fred, I know the guy who wrote a lot of the stuff in those stickies:3:. While I am still not keen on regular posting, I am still a moderator here and would be happy to compose even better notes for here, where I would much more enjoy seeing them put to use. What topic would you like to see that sort of information on the most?
I will go back to silent mode and simply await any suggestions that anybody may have.

P.S. firephil, not to ingore you, I have worked with both of these chemistries, feel free to contact me via, e-mail or p.m. and I will be happy to chat about my experiences with them.