my first pretty knife

Lerch

hi guys

well after having a heck of a time with bolsters and a few other problems i finally got some stuff figured out and got this one done. this is what i guess is called a "bird and trout" model knife, CPM154cm 1/8" steel with brass bolsters, iron wood handles and mosaic pins. this is my first time to try bolsters and wood handles so overall im pretty happy. it has a few things wrong with it, mainly where the pins are located, im not sure if i spaced them correctly, and the pins in the bolsters. I have had a horrible time figuring out how to work with pinned bolsters but thanks to Mike Miller and HHH Knives i was able to figure it out finally, THANKS GUYS!!!! i actually sanded down the ends of the pins a bit to much so they show a little on the inner taper of the finger grove but i chalk it up to a learning experince. also the locations where i drilled the bolster pin holes were not well thought out, but again it is a learning experince. overall im pretty happy with her, sorry for the crappy pic, my good camera is down for a bit so i had to use the Iphone. let me know what you think and where i need work

birdandtroutfirsttry.jpg

thanks
steve

I like it Steve. It's a bit difficult to offer my opinions based on one picture and because I have not done a bolster yet. But I think you know better than anyone what you want to improve on. You have already outlined what you think are shortcomings.
You and I see examples of what we consider perfection all the time. Our goal is to achieve that level of competence when we build a knife. It's natural that it takes time and experience to bring our game up. With time, patience and fortitude we will get there. You already make some pretty nice knives. I'm gonna take my hat off to you for showing us a piece that you feel is not up to par and ask for constructive criticism. That is a display of desire and a true love of the craft.
At any rate, I still think you did a good job.

Eric