Lanynard Hole?

Lerch

Hi all, this is my first time installing a lanyard and i am not sure of what diameter to drill the hole at, the tubing i ordered for the lanyard is 1/4" and i have already drilled 1/4" holes in the blade tang. I caliper measure the hole (.251") and the stainless steel tubing (.249") , i tried to push the tubing by hand through the hole and it fits all the way to the other side where it hangs up on what i am guessing is roughness from me grinding off the drill marks.

when i am ready to install the lanyard tube do i just cut to desired length and then use a little hammer to tamp it through lightly?? When i go to epoxy the lanyard tube in do i need to rough up the outsides of it to ensure a good hold? And what about epoxy overflow into the tube itself, do i just swab it out with some alcohol or do i drill it out with a smaller drill bit later?

sorry for all the questions and thanks!!

steve

The hang up may be from the very slightest of misallignment of the holes in your handle material and tang. I'v encountered the same problem so right before glue up I always bolt everything up and then redrill the hole with the handle material in place. I find this helps to clear up the hang up so to say. I'm not sure what the other guys do for thier thong tubing, but I scuff it up a bit with a 120-220gr sandpaper. I leave the thong tubing a bit long for glue up and then cut it to length after the epoxy has set (of course, this only works if you finish shaping your handle after glue up, otherwise I would cut it to length prior to glue up). As for the glue remaining inside the tubing, try putting a little oil on a Q-tip and running it thru the tubing prior to glue up. I light coat should work to help to dislodge the hardened epoxy after it sets.

Ya i dont have any handle material on right now, just wanting to make sure im on the right path before i do heat treat, i should have specified that . With a little tapping the tubing makes it through fine,