Knifemakers Guild Show Louisville Ky. Sept. 15-18

zbq

Sorry if this was posted earlier, I couldn't find it if it was.

Any Knife Dogs going to be there?
I did recognize Cliff Fendely on the list of table holders, not sure of any others.

I'll tell ya what, that hotel is some swanky digs!!
I just checked and the KMG rate is $129.00 per night and they still have rooms.

I'll be there, gotta go up a day early to get my knives inspected again. Hopefully they will like them and vote me in as a full voting member. Ya'll wish me luck!

I made a reservation for Saturday night, so unless something bizarre happens I should be there Saturday and Sunday.
Really looking forward to this. It will be my first "knife show"...meaning a show ONLY about knives...being a newbie, I'm sure I will be walking around with my chin on the floor with all the beautiful knives on display.

I do have a question....having never been to a knife only show, are there any "etiquette" issues I should know about? I'm honestly not there to BUY a knife, but more for the "spectator" aspect as well as trying to find knife making supplies. I definitely plan on stopping at Brad Vice's booth to get some of his Alabama damascus. ......one thing I have been wondering about....is it wrong, disrespectful or inappropriate to ask to look at a knife to see it's beauty up close, if you honestly aren't going to buy it? Being a newbie, I would be lying if I said that looking at the knives, at least partially, wasn't to pick up ideas on designs and materials. The remainder, for me anyways, is the enjoyment I derive form holding a knife and "feeling" it, the fit to my hand, the balance, the textures, the heft, does it feel like a natural extension of my hand....anyways, any guidance would be appreciated, I surely don't want to upset anyone by being disrespectful....

Oh, forgot....will you be there Saturday and Sunday Calvin?
If so, it would be pretty nice to meet someone from Knife Dogs...