Shop/tools suggestions

Cojab

Hello all,

I'm a complete beginner but wanting to learn about making knives. I've been reading and studying as much as possible and want to start putting together my shop.
My questions are what basic tools should I be looking at. Do most people use a bandsaw to cut out patterns or use a grinder. If a bandsaw, what is a good one and I'm assuming theres a difference (besides just the blade) between a wood and a metal one.
Also, I was thinking about building my grinder with the no weld grinder plans. Whats everyones experience with these.

Thanks for the help and many more questions to follow I'm sure.

Personally, I currently using my belt grinder (as well as a hacksaw and/or angle grinder) to cut out and profile my blades, but I am thinking about getting used porta-band to help things along and save belts.

As for the type of bandsaw, you definitely want a metal cutting band saw, or one that can be slowed down to the proper FPM with a decent metal cutting blade. Most guys typically put a makeshift table on a porta band, or they get a horizotal metal cutting band saw and mod that out.

Concerning the NWGS, that's what I built and use, and for the money, I don't think you'll find a better, more versatile/expandable grinder. Even if you can only afford to use a 3 or 4 step pulley system for speed changes.

Now, as for other tools you should buy, that's kind of up to you and your budget. Some guys start with nothing more than some files, sandpaper, and a couple C-clamps. If you can afford a decent drill press, you're that much farther ahead. If not, get a cheaper benchtop model. If not that, get a cheap corded drill until you can afford something else.

If you've got something to cut, grind, and and drill, you're probably good to go for at least a few basic knives. ;)