Preparing Wood for Handles

BD Blades

I have access to large amounts of Mesquite trees/bushes. I have seen some really nice mesquite handles, but do not know how to gather and prepare it for handles.

I would think you would want the root for some nice burl and I would think it would take a long time to dry. I have no experience with this at all. Just cutting it and letting it sit seems like a good way to develop cracks.

Any help would be great.

These three products will get you where you want to go. I would mill the pieces into slightly larger than necessary size say 2"x6"x1.5" for burl Id start with Polycryl for straight grain Pentacryl

after soaking that wood in those or similar dimensions should be good to go in around 6 months.
http://www.woodcraft.com/Product/2001793/29299/Polycryl-Gallon.aspx?refcode=05INFROO&gdd=150744
http://www.woodcraft.com/Product/2001793/29300/Pentacryl-Gallon.aspx
http://www.woodcraft.com/Product/2001793/29298/Wood-Juice-Gallon.aspx

You can get them in much smaller quantities as well.

I'd cut it way oversized with no pith in it. Generous three/four handle blocks. Seal the ends with melted wax or paint then forget about them for a couple or three years. You could also let logs check then later cut six or seven inch slices and split the piece up along the cracks with a wedge. The few bigger pieces should clean up to nice stable blocks. Since you have a bunch, don't try to save every little piece. Just pick and choose the best and use the rest for the bbq.

The root area is often worth the trouble, Craig