New knife pictures, throughout the process.

Pedro G.

I've started making a knife, I will post the pictures here as I go along, I will try to take as many as I can. Please feel free to post your opinions!
-Pedro

This is the knife design I will be working on. I might change it up as I work on it But overall it will look something like this.
IMAG0265.jpg

This is the bar stock I'll be using. It's a 1/4"x1.5"x8-9" 1084 steel somewhat flat bar kindly given to me by Rex McClellan. It is a bit thick but I can work with it.
IMAG0266.jpg

This is my first time using a band saw which you can see in another one of my posts. So this is a very rough cut but it did justice to my first time (1/4" o_O)
IMAG0267.jpg

Alright well this is the finished cut with the band saw. It is pretty rough but it came out alright. Now what left is to clean it.
IMAG0268.jpg

My 4" belt sander isn't the best at getting into small spaces so files are always handy! I did go overboard and didn't pay attention a couple times during this part but it turned out alright either way.
IMAG0269.jpg

This is the knife blank cleaned on the edges and one of its sides. I made a magnet to help me grind sideways from a tutorial. Cleaning the sides of the knife is taking longer than I expected but not too bad. I just have to clean the other side now!
IMAG0270.jpg

You did good on profiling that knife. One thing that I would change is to get something like a small chain saw file and round the bottom of that notch where the ricasso joins the tang at the guard. Sharp angle are stress risers that can lead to breakage and need to be avoided. With that 4X36" sander you will find yourself using files a lot. Just remember that it's the end product that counts, not how you get there. Do what you have to do to get the job done. A good knife done slowly beats the heck out of junk knife done quickly.

Doug