Ideas for portable band saw stand?

Pedro G.

I just bought a milwaukee 6230N portable bandsaw and I want to make a stand for it. I've tried a picket fence like structure but it didn't hold it tight enough.
I was thinking of making a mold of it and then creating a hard plastic base but that might not work and could be expensive.
One thing I don't want to do is damage the machine in any way as is drill holes in it and what not.
I've seen the swag of road model and pretty much all the commercial/ some home made ones but I just can't see how to reproduce it.

If you have any idea or pictures I would really appreciate it.

(I'm new to DIY building.)
thank you
-Pedro

I think you're trying too hard.
The only simpler thing than this is mounting it in your (future ?) bench vise.

I mounted the saw to an upright 2x4 for my shelves about chest high.
This strap is the only thing holding it up for the last 2 years.
Remove the handle screws(2) and mount the strap with the same 2 screws. Hold up saw and mount 2-3 screws into upright 2x4.
2011_0719saw0001.jpg

Make table to your specs. Turn on the saw and cut your slot. Turn the table around and slide it onto the blade and foot from behind.
2011_0719saw0002.jpg

Screw 2 self tapping screws right through the foot up into your new table from underneath. File off tips of self tapping screws if needed. You are done ! Elapsed time is about 20 minutes.
2011_0719saw0003.jpg

Click on pics a couple times for larger image.
You'll never make a knife if you overthink the tooling to get you there. Think simple.

Rudy

Last edited:
This helps a lot. I get what you mean here but there are reasons why I can't go simple. None that are in my control atleast. Those are personal. I have to make something that will keep it from moving what so ever unless I am going to take it out or something.
I don't think mine has those side handle screws.