Ideas for portable band saw stand?

Pedro G.

I just bought a milwaukee 6230N portable bandsaw and I want to make a stand for it. I've tried a picket fence like structure but it didn't hold it tight enough.
I was thinking of making a mold of it and then creating a hard plastic base but that might not work and could be expensive.
One thing I don't want to do is damage the machine in any way as is drill holes in it and what not.
I've seen the swag of road model and pretty much all the commercial/ some home made ones but I just can't see how to reproduce it.

If you have any idea or pictures I would really appreciate it.

(I'm new to DIY building.)
thank you
-Pedro

Pedro, I used my base from a old Harbor Freight drill press that finally bit the dust. had to loosen the set screw for the head of the Drill press and it came right off. Then adjusted the table to one side and positioned the saw till it was close to where I figured it would allow me to use the saw. Next I had to drill a couple holes in the case of the saw (one high and one low) and I attached the saw to the base using Heavy Duty Zip strips.. Attaching to the upright of the drill press and the table.. easy as that.. took about 15 minutes to do and had worked good so far. Also I had to attach the base of the Drill press to the bench. just ran a few large screws with larger washers into the bench.. Not sure this will help. But I hope it gives you some ideas. I have seen quite a few different set ups, each was unique and it seems like the person used what was on hand, and improvised to make it work :)

Good luck
Randy

Oddly enough, I have the harbor freight model and i just shove a beer cap under the handle. It holds really well in just the right position, no kidding..

Here are a few shots of the HF I put together. It works quite nicely. * excuse the mess *

-can't get pictures to work-

Last edited:
Alright well thanks to everyone my imagination kicked up and I just gave it a go and I did it! :)