Keep or sell band saw?

Pedro G.

I just bought a milwaukee 6230N portable band saw from craigslist. It's brand new, even has the plastic on it and the box is still in perfect shape. I got it for 100$. This model is about 270-300$ new from a store.
I looking for a metal cutting band saw and I thought this would be a good opportunity and bought it. But now I have to build a table and stand and i'm new to building so I don't have much experience with these kind of things.
I was thinking I could just sell this one for 250$ and buy a harbor freight metal bandsaw with a 1 year warranty and have some money left over. But that band saw apparently isn't as good quality as this one.

I'm not too sure what to do here? What is your opinion, I can't decide :p

Thank you
-Peter

I'd keep the portaband.
I use mine more than the HF saw now. Mounting was only two screws and the table is only two screws. (you have a new tap and dye set) Sooner or later you'll have to get into simple fabrication unless you're independently wealthy. Even the table on the HF needed work to behave correctly.

Rudy

I don't think you'd get anywhere near what you're hoping on resale. There's probably a reason it waited around for you on Craigslist, that's the market for your area.

Don't over think it, keep it simple and you don't have to copy any particular plan. If you need a table or stand, I'm sure you could come up with something. You picked up the saw to make things that are quite a bit more difficult to do. If you come up with something that doesn't work out so well, then make version number two with the tweeks that you like.

Good luck with it, Craig

Do you know anywhere I can find plans for this table and stand. I have no idea where to start personally.
I've looked everywhere online and I can only find pictures of what people have made.
-Peter

Last edited: