Blades testing

BD Blades

I am very new to knife making and wanted to know how you guys test your blades for cut, edge holding ability, toughness ect. Is there some sort of unwritten standard about how many rope or carboard cuts a blade should get or some other test medium.

I know there are many variations, what the intended purpose of the knife is, the blade steel and so on. I would be interested in some genral performance guidlines. I am curently working on fixed blade hunting and utility type blades using 5160.

as far a cutting tests go its one of the things you can ask 4 knife makers and get 5 answers. I have heard so many different ways, ranging from cutting paper and cardboard to cutting metal rods. IMO if you are have heat treat professionally done easiest way is to test you first of every design with actual use and just check the rest with paper or whatever you preferred method is to check the edge. if you are doing HT yourself probably with less controlled conditions and experience will need to check each blade individually.

just keep in mind I am new too so take more experienced opinions over mine.
-Cameron

The important thing about testing is to decide the aspects of a knife that are important to you, and more so to your customers. Then develop tests for those desired properties. I also feel it is very important that a maker "tests" their knives as often as possible in real world environments linked to the knives intended uses.

For example, every hunting season, I produce a new knife for myself to use. This knife always has the latest innovations, materials, and "tweaks" that I have come up with. Many times I run into cutting situations in the field that I simply would not have thought about, nor encountered if I limited my testing to the shop.