52100 & w2 heat treat

badgerknives

how do i heat treat 52100 and w2? i have the satinite for the w2 but i want to to know how hot to temper it at and how hot to get the water? oh and what about 52100 i know i need to heat it to nonmagnetic and hold it for about ten minutes to disolve the carbon and to quench it in oil but what processe do you guys use? i've never used either steels before, thanks a ton.

Both 52100 and W2 are going to be hypereutictic steel, that is the steel in the austinetic phase is going to be super saturated with carbon-over 77 points. Both should not be heated above the Acm point, which would be a bit over 1500 degrees-a dull red. Because ambient light can effect the interpritation of the color, what I do is slowly bring it up to non-magnetic and heat it just a little brighter. You would then want to hold that color for at least ten minutes. You will probably have to heat the blade to maybe just a little above this then remove in from the forge for a few seconds than return it for a few seconds back and forth.

Actually, either steel can be water quenched. But being that my health no longer allows me to drink, I've not worked up the courage to try it. Both would probably quench well in a light oil such as vegetable or peanut oil. Bring the oil up to about 130-140 degrees. If you use water, shutter, it should be a bit hotter, maybe 150 degrees. I would use in interupted quench with water, 3 seconds in, 3 seconds out, in and out until the steel is only slightly hot to the touch then immediately into the tempering oven. When I use 52100, I austemper it at about 145 degrees for three hours in an eletric roaster filled with peanut oil. You might want to hold off on such advanced techniques for now.

Doug

Last edited:
Doug, I have a couple of 52100 (Aldo's) blades profiled and ready to start grinding.
For the HT, I am planning on heating in the forge to non magnetic, then edge quenching in olive oil.
Then oven draw back.