Some WIP Pics

bjohnson

I've been working on 6 blades for the past several months (I work slow because most of my work is done back in my home town where I have access to a shop. So I go on weekends when I can). Here are a few pictures. You can see the rest at http://www.johnsonblades.com/progress/. Comments and Critiques always welcome.

g1_p01.jpg
g1_p07.jpg
g2_p01.jpg
0616012046a.jpg

I made some good progress this weekend on two of the knives. I was able to drill and glue the handles on both knives, and started to shape one of them. I'm happy with how they are coming along so far.

G6_01.jpgG6_03.jpgG6_05.jpgG6_06.jpgG6_08.jpgG6_10.jpgG6_09.jpgG6_04.jpg

I finished profiling of the handle on knife #1. I contoured the handle a bit. It feels nice in the hand. Just need to give it a quick buff and then sharpen it.

0620_02.jpg0620_05.jpg0620_04.jpg

Now it's time to work on the sheath. This is some heavy leather. I had a hard time cutting it out with my shears. I decided to do a basket weave pattern.

0621_01.jpg0621_02.jpg0621_03.jpg0621_04.jpg

All of these pictures have been taken from my phone. I'll take some better pictures when I'm done.

Nice looking knives Ben. The blade profile on the finished knife is my favorite. You're doing a great job, can't wait to see more.
Bruce

Thanks everyone for all the positive feedback.
I completed the sheath for knife 1 and finished up the handle on knife 2. It just needs a light buff and sharpening.

0623012005.jpg0623012226a.jpg0624011935.jpgs1_complete.jpg0625011823.jpg0626011302a.jpg0626011430a.jpg

Hello Ben.
Your work looks super and the styles look the best as well as well !!! Are you a hunter? With the fine work you are doing I may be making a mistake to say this but as I see your pictures the blades all appear to be a bit wide for easy use. Are they over 1" wide? I want to help, not hurt. Frank

Frank,