How to heat treat T-304 Stainless steel?

Pedro G.

How can I heat treat this?
I'm pretty new to knife making itself but i'm completely new at heat treating and I want to give it a shot. I can temper in the oven and I have a very small brick coal forge outside which I could use, if not I have access to a gas forge.

Thank you
-Pedro

304 doesn't have enough carbon to be hardened. It's pretty much just iron and chrome. It's good for guards and fittings, basically useless for blades.

You can't add carbon to it somehow? I've gotten pretty far and I don't want to put more money towards the blade if it's useless.

You can't add carbon to it somehow?

No. Well, not unless you own a foundry or steel mill :D

Get you a piece of 440C if you like stainless, it's inexpensive and makes good blades. Or spend a bit more and get CPM-154, it makes excellent blades. Either will require a well-controlled kiln to HT, or you can send it to TKS or Peters' HT (my personal choice).

If you want steel that makes good blades and can be heat-treated with a very simple "backyard" set-up, go for 1084 high-carbon steel. It's good stuff and also happens to be about as inexpensive as cutlery steel gets. It's not stainless, though.

Last edited:
James is right. 304 will not harden enough to be useful by today's standards. You may have already found that it work hardens (difficult drilling?) but not enought to be used as a blade. Having said all that, man used to field dress deer with a blade made of bone. 304SS would outperform the bone. It would make a nice letter opener.

I'm sure there are dozens of us on this board that made our first start with a non-useable steel. Mine is hanging on the shop wall. :)

James suggestions are excellent. I would add the suggestion of not using recycled steel (old files - saw blades etc.). Using mystery steel can be fun and recycling is noble, but it is definitely not a beginner project. Welcome to the addiction.

Rob!