Kydex Questions

T

tonester

hey guys, im a newbie to kydex! besides owning a couple of kydex sheaths thats as far as my experience goes with it. i have a couple of kydex projects in mind and was wondering if you guys could help me out with some questions.

first off, wheres the best place to buy kydex? my projects are gonna be small, so i really dont need sheets any bigger than 12"x12". found a couple of sources using google but was wondering if anyone has a better source.

next question is whats the thinnest you can find kydex?

last question, what are some recommended tools? i know im gonna need a press, some kind of source of heat to mold the kydex, a machine to cut the kydex, and tools to make holes for the rivets and to insert the rivets.

thank you guys for the help, it is greatly appreciated!

I'm about to embark on some similar projects, and I'd recommend Tracy's shop (Midwest Knifemaker's Supply on the menu bar above). I plan to use a toaster oven for heat, drill for holes, dremel to cut/shape, and an eyelet setter ($7.28). If you need more colors, texas knife supply looks to have the rainbow. Thinnest I've seen is .060", or you could look at concealex which may go thinner? I'm not certain on that.

I buy Kydex from KnifeKits because their prices are good and they have all the colors, but their shipping is kind of brutal. I buy everything else from Tracy.
.060 is the thinnest I have seen and only in black. Most of the colors are .080 or .093.
I use a toaster oven to heat for molding, and a heat gun for tuning. You will also need a foam molding press, as well as a press and dies, or one of the flaring tool kits, to press the eyelets. Also a drill and the correct size bits. I use metal shears to cut the rough shapes and then use my belt grinder to finish the edges.

I think Springfield leather has about the best prices I've seen just for kydex...

http://springfieldleather.com/store/product/22548/Kydex-T,Calcutta,.06,1'x1'/