Newbie---- question about engraving

JimmyB

Hi all,
I'm new to knifemaking and am purchasing equipment and materials to make a few knives. My plan is to make them for Christmas presents. I want to engrave or etch my initials, date and knife number on the knife. I've looked at "The Personalizer" but have no idea how it works, I've thought of using small letter stamping stencils. I don't want to use a vibrating engraver unless I can make the lettering look nice.
What do you guys use to inscribe with on your knives?
Thanks in advance,
Jimmy

Aloha! I'm just as curious as you are about marking knives, and you are in the right place to ask that question.

Engraving steel just about takes a power graver and even with hand engraving the equiptment can be a bit on the pricy side. I would go with the electrochemical etching. The Personalizer is just one machine that will do the job. Etch-O-Matic is another maker that sells an electochemical etching systems plus stencil makers. USA Knifemaker Supply also markets one. If you have a old fashioned type writer with keys or a daisey wheel you can get some stencil material that you can type your. You can also make a pattern with a graphics program on your computer. You then can send it to someone who has the capability of burning some stencils for you or you can make/buy your own equiptment. Basicall all you need is a real clean piece of glass, a UV light, a developing tray, plactic tongs, and the developing chemical. You will need a room that you can darken. One stencil will mark many blades if cared for.