Some definitions please

Dwane Oliver

I dont know JACK about razors , other than they are sharp.......and cool.
I see the pro's like Harner and Lewis say its an "8/9" or a "6/8" ???
What does that mean?
What about the grinds , how many different grinds are there?( I saw one on Lewis's site that was only ground on one side , very cool )
Advantages and dis advantages of each please.

Thanks from a Newb

Edit: Ok I found this link
http://www.straightrazorplace.com/s..._Great_Straight_Info_Razor_Central_Manual.pdf
Tons of great info

Last edited:
Dwayne im kinda new to making razors and have been making and reconditioning and rescaling razors a little over a year . Ill ansewr a few of the easier questions. Henckles made a chart around the turn of the last century and if my memory serves me right there are about 20 different level of grinds . They start at a 1 wedge and go up to extra full hollow grind like . I have a have a couple extra hollow but not extra full hollow. These grinds can only be done on a specific machine strictly built for razors. They cost alot to have one built like about 5 grand for a cheap one . Most makers that grind use a 3 or 4 inch wheel to grind off and a wedge can be done off a 10 but is like a flat grind even though most knife makers would say its a hollow ground . By the henckles chart it would be a #1 wedge . 4/8 5/8 6/8 7/8 8/8 and 9/8 all refer to the width of the working or cutting edge of the razor being 6/8 ths of a inch. I try to start out a little wider but they all end up1 or 2 /8th s off what after sharpening and truing things up . I go all out on my razors doing about 6 or 8 hours of file decoration per razor. Grinding takes about 2 hours and the rest is just polishing and sharpening. Sharpening is the hardest part of razor finishing because the blades are more delicate thus need lest pressure and can take from 1 hour to 4 hours to sharpen . I have inproved on my time in sharpening some what since I started and can do a refurbish