Soldering- Lesson Learned

Sticks

I'm a newbie knife maker, only 4 1/2 to date. Its the 1/2 that 's causing the problems. I've soldered a nickle silver guard to 440C, a brass guard to A2 and a 304 stainless guard to A2, without mishap (other than too much solder and cleanup). The latter guard I even used Menard's silver solder. Each time I used Staybrite flux. Last night I tried to solder another 304 guard to A2. This time I thought why not use Radio Shack flux and "silver solder". Well the same solder that used before just beaded up and refused to stick. So lesson for me was make suer you use the right flux.

good lesson. soldering stainless is a bugger until you get the right combination and learn to not burn the flux...

I'm thinking of getting some silver model paint and just painting the joint! Argh! ! Tried again and this time with the right flux. The solder "filled" the largest gap at the bottom of the ricaso, but wouldn't fill the tight, almost zero, gaps on the sides. Maybe burned the flux, or .... The knife on the right turned out OK but the one on the left, well you can see the problem.

DSC_0683.jpg

I use JBweld myself. I hated cleaning up after soldering.

I'm with Tracy and James. JB Weld is sooo much easier and the excess can be cleaned up with a little WD-40 on the end of a q-tip before it sets.

Doug Lester

You guys are making me think /I/ should go to JB Weld for this type of thing too... I've been fighting soldering thinner brass ferrule with thicker brass guard using medium & easy silver solder. Not fun. As for flux, I've had more luck mixing up a slurry of borax and water than with the commercial flux I've got?!? So JB Weld is sounding attractive.