My first knife design

B

byfbo

This is my first attempt at designing and making a knife. I drew something up today on a piece of paper then I made a .dxf of my drawing. I am going to laser cut this blank out, but since its my first try ever I was looking for feed back into the design and what would be the easier material to make it from first. I havent programmed the holes for the scales yet since I dont know what hardware is best. The materials I have on hand is some 1/4 inch 1095 steel, and I have some 11 gauge 304 stainless. I have other steel thicknesses but none in 1095. I just noticed I forgot to draw in some thumb ridges or what ever the tech term is called lol. Anyways thanks for the input if you have the time!
knife1-1.jpg

I like the overall design, though I'd probably want to go with something a little thinner than 1/4" for a knive that small and slender.

Also, what's the diameter of your finger choil? Be sure it's big enough to fit your finger comfortably and still have a little bit of wiggle room. I usually make mine at least 3/4" wide or more, which is what it looks like you have, but I can't really tell.

Looking forward to seeing a finished blade!

Im not sure what that measurement is I just free handed that part. I will add that into my cad drawing. So I will cut it out of 11 gauge stainless then! I appreciate the response! I have a lot to learn and all I have are a few hand files (and a 3000w laser lol, but that only cuts out a few beginning steps).

Roy

Ok so here is my first revision of my first design. I added some more measurements to the pic. The line spacing between the finger ridges is .1. I plan on using these corby bolts. I have made the holes in the tang and the scales slightly larger than the shaft on the corby bolt. I think the actual diameter on the shaft of the bolt is .135
knife1-2.jpg