New blade

mtnman1

Hi guys. I'm relatively new to knife making. Murph directed me over here and it looks like a great place for me to learn. I've thrown a couple of kits together and have just started trying to grind my own blades. I've read a few articles and what not and have some very limited equipment but I've managed to knock out a couple of blanks and grind a few for practice. I did my first couple out of D2 and have now progressed to S35v which is what I think I want my end result to be made from. I'm strictly doing this for the enjoyment.

Here's my first blade that I've done with the S35v. Had some feedback that I had taken the blade too far and that it would warp in Heat Treat, but I just talked to Brad at Peter's and he said he wasn't worried and thought it would be no problem. (Fantastic guy to talk to and really patient and helpful) Let me know what you think. I am certainly open to comments and criticism so tell me what I need to be doing differently.

Probably doing the picture thing wrong, so if someone can aim me at the proper way, I'd appreciate that as well.

SANY0181.jpg

Pic loaded just fine. Welcome to the pack. When you get a chance, drop over to he "Introduction Forum" and tell us about yourself. If you fill in your profile and tell us where you are, there will probablymbe a few guys inmyour neck of the woods willing to help you out if you into any issues.

Hey thanks Murph. Really appreciate you directing me over here. Lots of great info and experience available.

If memory serves, S35V is a stainless steel so that means that it is air hardening which reduces the likelyhood of the steel warping. You are also sending it out for professional heat treating and they will know how to reduce the stresses on the steel that might cause a problem. Reguardless, if you make knives you will eventually need to know how to straighten blades.

Doug Lester

Make sure you drill your hole before heattreat.
Trust me. Done that one allready.