Survival Kit

murphda2

Super Moderator and KD Blade Show Boss
"Wil" posted a threads asking questions about what to pack and what suppliers were available for survival kit supplies and it got me thinking. I started looking around for supplies and a pack. I've bought a couple of different inexpensive packs to use and today I decided to raid my local surplus store and Gander Mountain. Normally I try to refrain from shopping at GM, but the military discount offsets the price enough on small things I guess.

So far, I've picked up this pack and the following.

2 Cigarette Lighters
1 Striker
1 Emergency Poncho
1 Small Waterproof Bag
1 Emergency Blanket
1 Bundle of 100' Blaze orange 3/16" flat utility cord
5 Pkg. (4 pouches each) Flammable Gel
1 Spindle (4 lengths) Snare Wire
1 100oz. Camelbak Bladder
1 Large Waterproof Bag

I still have more to go, I still need:

Compass
Pill Bottles w/ asprin, Ib, Tylenol
Bandages
Tourniquet (I think I have a couple of combat tourniquets somewhere)
10' x 10' Plastic Sheet
Pocket Hammock
Multi-tool
Small Fixed Blade
Folding Saw
Metal Container (for boiling water, I'm thinking coffee can or canteen cup)

and............... (Not sure what else yet)

attachment.php

Survival Pack 2.jpg

Great start Murph. I would add a magnifying glass (for fire starting and in case my reading glasses get broken), a small signal mirror, a lot more plastic bags (to catch rain water, store game you have killed and to keep everything dry), first-aid kit with somekind of neosporin or iodine, halazone tablets, some lightsticks, a few power bars and a small bottle of Tabasco. Hell, even muskrat tastes good with Tabasco (or so they say). Oh, and a couple of different size needles and thread, including some monofilament to sew yourself up if something bad happens.

Last edited: