WIP - 1st ever for me

bdt0307

Well, when I first logged on to this sight I said I had an access to 1095, well I finally found a 1/8" thick piece worth making something out of. It was blued from the manufacturer and will need some post work re-heat treating but I am pleased so far.
I didn't think to take pictures of the original blank before cutting out the shapes. This is what I have so far:
Knives008-1.jpg

What angle grind should be used for a 2 sided grind?
How far up from the edge should the grind go?
Below are some of my thoughts for an aesthetically pleasing grind, but I am a friggin' rookie. what do you think?
Knives.jpg

Hi Bdt0307

Is it just me - why does everyone use such Cryptic forum names???

I'm also still a rookie so I am no expert, particularly as far as grinding goes (I am still building my grinder), my first knife (http://knifedogs.com/showthread.php?14706-My-1st-knife-built-from-scratch) was done with files. I think that based on the "tanto" style blade that the grinds would be chisel grinds or possibly flat grinds. I think the distance from the edge would largely depend on the thickness of your steel.

From your three pics I like the third one (in line with 2" marker)

Hope that the other forum members can add a more experienced view.

Regards
Rick

Thanks for the feedback Rick. The bottom 2 are mine, the others have been promised to associates that can contribute to the project. I have access to a Turret Milling machine for the initial grind. I will have the "Cutting edge" applied by my local knife shop contact who will also be the one taking care of the heat treating and procuring some G10 for the handles. Should I bolster these or leave it without?

Thoughts and advice are appreciated.

Brad

btw - your 1st knife is a beauty.

another Brad... awesome! :)

I'm not a big bolster-fan, so unless you are going to do them in some other sort of synth material, I say go without them...

Brad,