end mill cutter

B

boltcutter

i want to cut the material i am using for liners on my folding knife down to a much thinner thickness. I intend to use an end mill on my drill press, but did not know there were so many types of end mills. can anyone help me figure out which one to buy? Thank you!

Well I am no expert just self taught so here is my take on your question and let me start with a drill press is not designed to be a milling machine they bearings will not last long with the side load and you will just end up ruining your drill press.

That said the more flutes the bit has the more material it can remove like a 4 flute will remove material the a 2 flute bit. You will want center cutting bits for what you want to do to. As for material HSS, Cobalt, Vanadium or Carbide it depends on what your cutting and how much you want to pay, for most cases HSS works just fine.

I very much agree with Mike....trying that with a drill press is gona take forever, it's not going to work very well, and you'll likely wreck your drill press in the process. A drill press just isn't "beefy" our stout enough to handle that kind of task. I'm speaking from experience....I tried it...ONCE. I ruined my drill press and the results were a train wreck with the materials I was trying to mill.

Yep, X2 what Ed said! I suggest you find a local shop to do your milling.. Until you get a mill of course.. The guys at my local machine shop know me as that knife guy and they are always ready to help if they can.. Good luck.

Last edited:
"There's a tool for every job"......