collector's advice

Bennie Lovejoy

A boy from work asked me the other day if I could clean and sharpen a couple of knives for him. sure I said. One of the knives was a pocket folder that just has some rust on the blade. But the other is a model 1880 hunting knife from the Springfield armory. From all of the info I could find on it this thing, It was made in 1883 to 1885. It is rusted on the blade and the brass of the guard and scabbard are really bad from age. Is it ever a good idea to clean something this old? My first instinct is to say no, but I'm not sure if it would degrade the value of the knife if I just clean the brass and leave the blade alone? Any and all advice would be appreciated.

I would leave it alone.
Although I'm not a pro appraiser....we've all heard more than once about removing the original patina from anything. The value automatically goes down, assuming it's worth anything.

Rudy

anything that old, I would not "refurb". If the owner wants a new looking knife, I'd advise him to leave it as is or sell that one and buy a new looking knife and pocket the balance.

1880SpringfieldKnife.jpg

One of these?
I saw one on an auction site,in this kind of shape, going for $750
edited to add:
Might be worth getting it pro cleaned...
I've seen them going from $350 to over $3000 depending on condition,
and type:there's a "rare" one with iron guard in Vry Good cond. listed at over $3000.

Last edited:
Ironwolf, thats the knife. Brass guard. I told him today that I would not touch it,That it would probably ruin the value of the knife. Thanks for the advice folks.

I've seen discussions regarding safe ways to clean such items without ruining collector value,
but it might be worth having it professionally restored.
Then again,some collectors prefer to do it themselves,if at all.
Me personally,I'd clean it,and use it occasionally,listen to the stories it has to tell,and add a few of my own. :)