Knife Filing and Engraving Costs?

Kris Martinelli

I thought the Knife Calculator was a great topic. I am somewhat new to the knife world. I have started by learning file work and some engraving by a friend whom past away Earl Dillon. He was featured in Gun Digest Book of Knives when it was out. We never discussed cost or what to charge while I was learning from him? I was doing it as a hobby and having fun.

Now as my work is becoming visible to the public. A few knife smith's have asked me to do some file work. Does anyone charge by Inch?? If so how much? I was happy just to put my work on one master smiths knives and him give me a couple of his knives for payment. One gentleman Chuck Stapel stated he makes knives and believed he last heard, file work and engraving was anywhere between twenty and forty dollars an inch???? He wasn't sure. Anybody have an idea? Please Help.................LOL Thanks

I have no idea, but if I received a couple of M.S. knives for a few inches of file work I would call it adequate payment in my mind.

for the life of me I can't recall which mag it was in,
but there was an article in a knife magazine a few years back,
and one knifemaker said he charged from $20-$40 an inch,depending on the pattern.

I know a guy who gets $20/inch for sharpening, never mind filework. I guess it all depends on the market you're in.

...I've been doing file-work for 8-10 years now, and it averages out to about $2-$5/an inch is what I've been making...
at an hour + per inch...(mind you,I am filing finished,hardened knives made from D2 etc...)
I'm gonna HAVE to raise my prices...to at least $6/inch! ;)