G10 Questions

K

k.berge68

Hi guys,

So I've always loved knives ever since I was a little boy. And the last couple years I've been wanting to try to making them but I just recently got serious about it. I don't want to just jump right in with no idea what I'm doing so I've come to you gentlemen.

I'm going to do my research and order books and stuff before I try to make a knife but I want to try re-scaling some of my folders.. I want to use G10 and maybe some micarta.. How hard is it to work with these 2? I heard G10 can be VERY hard to cut. Would a dremel with a cutting wheel work? I heard a coping saw does pretty good?

I want to make a Home Depot trip today, what do y'all recommend I buy?
I heard I'll need a P100 respirator? What brand or model would be best?

Should I buy sand paper?

Files? What files would work best on the G10, If any. And what should I get for filing steel?

Sorry about all the questions. I'm a college student with a lot to learn about knife making but I'm VERY determined.

Thanks guys!
Kevin

G10 is a nasty material to cut because the fine dust is irritating to the eyes/nose/throat/lungs. It's just fiberglass and epoxy, basically, and you can imagine getting that all through you! Not hard to cut, but not easy either. I dremel and cutting wheel will do the job, but I like using a hacksaw or such for greater speed and accuracy. Micarta is similar but is composed of paper, linen or canvas and epoxy. Easier to cut, imo, and there's a great variety of thicknesses and colors.

As for sandpaper, you can never have too much. Most commonly-available papers are rather chintzy, but they work. I prefer to buy mine from autoparts stores as they seem to carry better quality and finer grits than you'll find in Home Depot and the like. I would suggest you get an assortment from 80-grit up to 600-grit, with the majority being in that low/middle range where you are trying to remove material and refine shape.