"Couldn't leave well enough alone"--- my brine quench experiment

jkf96a

I've been quenching in vet grade mineral oil for nearly two years, with generally acceptable results. I don't have good metallurgical testing equipment, but I do use the blades I have kept, and use them hard. I mostly use my kiln for the heating, except on blades that are too long to fit, in which case I use my charcoal forge. I use mostly 1080, with an occasional file thrown in for fun. I generally do full quench, and I also use satanite for hamons once in a while.

I made a knife out of a file, probably the 25th file knife I've done. I clay coated, heated to 1475 with a soak of 5 min or so, and quenched in the mineral oil warmed to about 100 degrees. The blade did not get hard, and the hamon met the edge only about an inch from the tip. To me this indicated that the quench speed was too slow considering the unknown (but apparently higher) carbon content. I made some brine, using a gallon of water and a cup and a half of rock salt. Did the same heat treating procedure (clay, 1475, soak), then quenched in the brine, with the brine at about 100 degrees. I agitated during the quench, and kept the blade in until it was below the boiling point of the brine. I had predicted to my wife that if I tried this, 25% of the blades would crack. Let's just say 100% of the first one cracked, near the end of the cooling time, before I pulled it from the liquid. I have quenched (and cracked) in water before, and I could definitely tell a difference between the brine and the plain water. The bubbles were much smaller and much more uniform with the brine.