Loveless style Hunter

Mark Behnke

This knife #8 and second leather sheath.

Canvas micarta
Brass guard w/NS pins and thong liner

This is my first attempt at a mirror finish,way under estimated the time it takes for fit and finish on this one but will be prepared for the next.

Lots to learn with the leather work, it's so impressionable, that's good and bad, Ludlow   Loveless Hunter and Sheath919 2010 015.jpgLudlow   Loveless Hunter and Sheath919 2010 016.jpgLudlow   Loveless Hunter and Sheath919 2010 017.jpgLudlow   Loveless Hunter and Sheath919 2010 018.jpgLudlow   Loveless Hunter and Sheath919 2010 019.jpgLudlow   Loveless Hunter and Sheath919 2010 011.jpg bad for a beginner.

Thanks for looking and feel free to comment, advise or criticize.Ludlow   Loveless Hunter and Sheath919 2010 012.jpg

Last edited:
I think it looks great and I really like the symmetry from the distal taper to the tapered tang. Nice work on the sheath, too.

Outstanding looking knife for #8. Looks really nice.
Was the tapered tang a pain for you to accomplish?
Dozier

Thanks for looking and the compliments Denny.

Dozier, i realy like tapered tangs so don't mind the extra steps to accomplish them. My first full tang knife I did with files and tapered the tang. They realy lighten up the handle. I did have trouble with this one because I didn't hold it flat against the platen on one side so ended up chasing dips and humps.
Next one I'll use the disk grinder to get it flat.

Mark, your gonna have to post a beginner's WIP on the next tapered tang. Most of the tutorials I've seen look WAY beyond the scope of my abilities.
Now, if I could tell steel bad jokes and it would disappear where I wanted it too, then I'd have something.
Well Done,
Dozier

Knife looks great!! I love the Tapered tang look also. It adds a LOT of Character to the knife.

That is a great WIP thread Charles posted. He sure is top notch!!

Last edited: